University Of Bahr el Ghazal

MOHEST Committee for Resolution of Crisis in UBG arrives in Wau

Thursday, 31 August 2023

The Ad hoc committee of the the Ministry of Higher Education, Science and Technology, formed by Hon. Minister Gabriel Changson Chang, and tasked for resolution of crisis in University of Bahr El Ghazal, on Thursday arrived in Wau, Western Bahr El Ghazal State, where they were received by the Deputy Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Prof. Peter Atem Deng, Deputy Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance, Prof. Hawa Abdullah Marjan, Academic Registrar Prof. Charles Epiphanio Wani, and other senior administrators.
The committee is headed by the Undersecretary of the Ministry of Higher Education, Science and Technology Dr. Adil Athanasious Surur, other members include Mr. Job Akuei Alith, Hon. Simon Athuai, M. Gen. Abud Stephen, Gen. Wang Chany Thiang, and Mr. Allahajabo Khamis.
Upon its arrival, the committee met with Governor of Western Bahr el Ghazal State Hon. Sarah Celto Hassan and Deputy Governor Hon. Zacharia Joseph Garang in the State Government Secretariat General, to inform them about the purpose of the visit.
The Committee will meet University Administration, Students and other Stakeholders to find a ways of addressing the issue of tution fees.
At the same time, Vice chancellor of the University of Bahr El-Ghazal Prof. Victor Laku Kwajok arrives, at Wau Airport on Thursday, ahead of MOHEST Committee, after an official trip to capital city Juba, where he met the Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology.
Prof. Laku will join the senior administrators of the University in the meeting with the committee.
In Mid August, the Dean’s board of University of Bahr El Ghazal on its Emergency meeting No. 3 dated 15/08/2023, has announced the immediate closure of the University for indefinite period following the protest by the students over adjustment of tution fees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


The Pharmaceutical Society of Uganda (PSU), in collaboration with partners in Uganda, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and South Sudan, was awarded a highly competitive